Folk Fest

The Secrets

Country-folk trio The Secrets, comprised of Newfoundland natives Karla Pilgrim, Terri Lynn Eddy and Renée Batten – all three accomplished singers and solo musicians – met in college. They quickly discovered a natural blend to their voices and musical aspirations, traded jigs and reels for whiskey, mandolins and faded jeans, and haven’t looked back. SONY DSC The Secrets launched their trio opening for country music legend Alan Jackson’s Freight Train Tour in 2010, and since 2012 have been taking their music across the country, including stops at Saskatchewan’s Ness Creek Folk Festival, Winnipeg Folk Festival, Stan Rogers International Folk Festival, the World Pride Festival (Toronto), the Acoustic Maritime Music Festival, Harmony Bazaar Festival of Women and Song, Cavendish Beach Music Festival, and opening three sold out shows for country superstar Tim McGraw at Mile One Centre in St. John’s, NL. The Secrets headed to Nashville in spring 2014 to record at Beech Creek Studios. Their producer/co-writer, Peter Daniel Newman gathered some of that city’s finest session players – including Pat McGrath, Gordon Mote, Duncan Mullins, JT Corenflos, Steve Brewster, Andy Leftwich and Dan Dugmore – to support The Secrets in bringing their chosen songs to life. This culminated in the (June 2014) release of The Secrets highly anticipated debut album, Break Even, which features a combination of The Secrets own originals, the album title track and lead single “Break Even”, written by fellow east coast musicians Chris Kirby and Tim Chaisson, several co-writes with Peter Daniel Newman (including their second…

Read More